Monday, December 27, 2010

TO BE GRATEFUL

Christmas was spent chilling at home. Semua kedai pun tutup. But ada this one halal restoran in town yg kitorang subscribe kat FB group. So the owner emailed us and informed that his shop was opened on Christmas day.
Dalam boring2 tu, Mr. PIC rasa mcm nak keluar rumah..saja jalan2..so, ended up having lunch kat sana..special dish pulak tu..slow cooked lamb..sedap sangat! Lepas makan, balik rumah balik..heheh..

Boxing day, pagi2 dah drive to York Factory Outlet..and it was frustrating la..not many items yg really2 good price..mmg la sale kaw kaw..like a coat from 200 jadi 50 gitu..hebat la kan? but 50 is still mahal to us..hehehe..but ended up beli one Nescafe Dolce Gusto Picolo machine..for a price yg less than 35 pound..mana nak cari kan? at Timberland..beli a pair of shoes..and Mr. PIC beli 2 shirts...basically that was it. Polo Ralph Lauren punya sales not that bad..tapi no size for Mr. PIC..he looked frustrated la jugak..maybe today..ingat nak pegi jalan2 kedai kat sini je..

********************

On another note, a friend's of Mr. PIC passed away yesterday..he had hypertension and heart problems. Warded since last week and the news spread among the MCKK batch quite fast. Diorang start buat kutipan and all. I was impressed with their brotherhood..though I never admitted to him. Anyhow, malam tu during bedtime, he said..during time2 mcm ni..dia bukan sedih pasal kawan dia passed away..he said mmg dah sampai masa..but he was just wondering about saat2 ajal tu menjelma..you will see your amalan flashes before your eyes..either you senyum or you started to become very2 afraid..those thoughts made him thinking about his amalan so far..his behavior in the past..hmm.. it made me think too. I am not really a good muslim sangat pun..I wore my hijab..I pray..I fast..I always make sure that I do the compulsory things..at my very best..amalan yg sunat tu..jarang2 saya buat..it is like having a house with just the supporting beams..without walls..and other accessories..

During this Christmas times ni, mmg akan banyak iklan asking viewers to donate some money to charity..ye la..for them it is a season of giving..but there is this one advertisement yg kinda touching..it is about donating to this association that helps children who are blind and deaf..can you imagine that..blind and deaf..that is like living in total darkness..I just can't imagine that..so, this advert shows this one child..and how he was learning sign language using the sense of touch and feel..I wonder how they communicate..it made me feel so grateful..

Friday, December 24, 2010

RANDOMNESS

Mr. PIC is sleeping. I am still awake as I feel it is a waste for me to go to sleep since it is Friday and weekend is just around the corner. Esok boleh bangun lambat maa..heheh

Penat kerja part-time ni..getting stressful at times. Kadang2 idea mencurah-curah to write something tapi masa tu la kena get ready to go work. You know at times mood to do some work comes later. Tapi nak buat macam mana, I need the money. I consider that a sacrifice on my part la pulak.

Yesterday was quite a good day for me. I managed to get the results that I have been waiting for since this whole journey started. Alhamdulillah..but amazingly, I was not as excited as I should be. I mean, masa nak buat measurement tu, nervousnya bukan main..rasa mcm nak delay buat measurement je so that I wouldn't have to face it, but yeah I did it anyway..and yet, the results did not make me jumping up and down. Entah la..maybe I think it is not over yet..mesti ada benda lagi nak kena buat. I hope my supervisor is happy and I can start sending the drafts of my chapters for him to review.

We planned to go to a factory outlet this Boxing Day weekend. Mr. PIC is looking for a long overcoat while I just want to just see what I can grab.

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

A FRESH START

Wow, dah lama sangat tak blog.

Suddenly I feel like writing again. Moreover, I am heading towards the end of the journey. Walaupun rasa mcm jauh je lagi tapi at least ada la nampak finish line at the end. Hopefully whatever that we have planned will go on smoothly.

Anyhow, I am still here. Struggling. Being a wife is not easy. Heheh..kadang2 rasa mcm tak sangka dah jadi isteri. To have somebody sleeping next to me every night, which is good considering it is now winter..so, to have somebody that I can cuddle like a big teddy bear is a bonus. Ngeh..ngeh..ngeh..

No sign of pregnancy yet..not that we are planning not to have one..so basically belum ada rezeki. Sedih jugak bila memikirkannya..tapi kena usaha, sabar and tawakkal..insyaAllah nanti ada la tu..well, that's what people have been telling me. Besides, maybe I may not be able to cope, with having a baby and doing my PhD..so, that's why la kot..Allah knows best.

Me and Mr. PIC dah setahun..setahun 2 bulan 13 hari to be exact. How fast time flies. He is doing well here with me. The sacrifice he had made to come here..I will always be grateful and appreciate it as long as I live.

We went back to Malaysia last October to attend my SIL's wedding in Ipoh. We were there for around 3 weeks but that was not enough. Banyak benda nak makan tapi tak sempat..banyak benda nak beli tapi tak sempat..heheh..but we managed to have a quick vacation just me and Mr. PIC to Pangkor..tapi tu pun spent one night je. Kira boleh la..

I really wanna go somewhere. My only trip outside UK was to Prague in 2008! How pathetic is that? Since I am here and Europe to mcm next door je la kan..better I take advantage of that. Haihh..tapi mmg plan pun nak have a really2 good vacation after all this. Maybe during writing up pun boleh pegi jalan2 jugak kan?

I haven't have the chance to go anywhere for a conference. Another pathetic thing that I am dealing with being a PhD student. I broke down once in front of my supervisor, feeling like such a loser..ye la..I am already in my 3rd year and yet, I belum publish anything. Tapi being a nice supervisor that he is, he told me that it is ok. He said, you've working really hard etc..bla..bla..ayat2 motivasi gitu. Hahaha..but I must publish something before I graduate. Mmg boleh graduate even though no publications but I feel obligated to do so. I want my research to mean something. Lagi satu kalau la ada rezeki...dapat la hendaknya saya pergi conference somewhere in US. Hehehe..nak sangat2..it will be a present for Mr. PIC as well. He really wanted to go back to US. Hmm..suka sangat compare US with UK...

Well, that's it for now. It is now snowing yet again. Looks like gonna be a few inches thick. Lebat semacam. Haihh..